Skip to content

Posts tagged ‘award’

Nominations Open for Volunteer of the Year Awards

First Lady Donna Walker announced earlier this month that nominations have opened for the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards. Started by First Lady Bella Hammond in 1975, the Awards recognize Alaska volunteers who have displayed an extraordinary personal commitment to volunteer service, and have made a major impact on their community or state.

“Over the years, we have recognized many exceptional individuals who have done amazing things for Alaskans,” said First Lady Walker. “I am so pleased to continue this tradition, and encourage Alaskans to nominate those in their communities whose selfless efforts make Alaska an even better place to live.”

Nominations will be accepted beginning February 6 through close of business on March 6, 2017. They may be submitted online at, or hard copies are available for pick up at the Governor’s Offices in Anchorage, Juneau, Fairbanks, and Palmer. The First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Executive Committee will review the nominations, and recipients will be announced in late May.

For more information, visit the FLVA Website.

Nominate a Champion for Kids Today!

Nominations due Wednesday, March 1

Do you know someone in Interior or Northern Alaska who has demonstrated a dedication and commitment in working toward preventing child abuse and neglect? Nominate the individual for the Champion for Kids Award, presented by Alaska Children’s Trust.

Champions for Kids have committed their time and resources to helping children have a safe place to live, learn and grow, whether it is through their professional employment, volunteer work, community activities, or actively working with children.

All across Interior and Northern Alaska there are extraordinary individuals who are ensuring our children live in safe, stable and nurturing communities. Help us thank these individuals by nominating them for the 2017 Alaska Champion for Kids award.

To nominate someone, please complete our Champion for Kids Award application. Applications are due Wednesday, March 1, 2017.

For additional information about past award recipients, the current Champion for Kids, and the application process, please visit our website.